England Announces 2018 Commonwealth Games Table Tennis Squad | TT News Weekly

This week on TT News Weekly:
England announces squad for Commonwealth Games,
Tomokazu Harimoto honoured at special ceremony,
and major names sign deals with German clubs.
Four years ago, England won a total of five
medals at the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games
and now the country has announced its line-up
for the upcoming edition of the Games set
to take place on the Gold Coast.
Paul Drinkhall will appear in his fourth Commonwealth
Games and is joined in the Men’s Team event
by Liam Pitchford, Sam Walker and David McBeath.
Leading the squad for the Women’s Team competition
is Tin-Tin Ho who will play alongside other
young stars Maria Tsaptsinos and Denise Payet
while Kelly Sibley provides the experience.
Kim Daybell, Ross Wilson and Felicity Pickard
will compete as England’s Para line-up.
What a start to the year it has been for Tomokazu
Harimoto with the 14-year-old star setting
a new record in January when he became the
youngest ever player to win the Men’s Singles
title in the history of the Japanese National
Now Harimoto has been honoured for his terrific
achievement with a special celebration in
Sendai City.
Approximately 120 people were in attendance
at the ceremony where Harimoto spoke about
his next goal, winning Olympic gold when the
Games are hosted in Tokyo in 2020.
There were some major transfers deals signed
this week with German clubs taking the spotlight.
Sweden’s Matilda Ekholm will play her home
matches in the German capital in the 2018-2019
campaign of the German Women’s Bundesliga
after signing an agreement to join TTC Berlin
Eastside in the summer of 2018.
Omar Assar will swap one German Men’s Bundesliga
side for another with the Egyptian set to
leave Werder Bremen for Borussia Dusseldorf
at the end of the 2017-2018 campaign.
ASV Grunwettersbach will add Sathiyan Gnanasekaran
to the ranks following an impressive stint
from the Indian representative on the international
scene, but one player who won’t be appearing
in the German Bundesliga next season is Jonathan
Groth who will leave TTC RhönSprudel Fulda-Maberzell
for Russian club TTSC UMMC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *